Sign up to our newsletter

Listen to the lead track Greg's Island

Facebook | Soundcloud | Instagram | High Res Images  

Studio Barnhus announce “Reveries Of”, the first album for the label from acclaimed Stockholm producer Art Alfie.  Set for release on 3rd March 2017, the first track to be shared is "Greg’s Island", which showcases Art Alfie in his most playful mood: Homey organ chords offset by bouncing percussion and a deep, rolling reggae bassline. "Greg's Island" has become a staple at Studio Barnhus Dance Parties around the globe.

The Reveries Of begin with a simple electrical hum – a starting signal for the appearance of a vibrant array of sound, shifting before us in seemingly random motion. Before we know it, all those pulsating melodies, razor-cut hifi-house beats and drunken robot jazz ensembles start forming into patterns, secretly & perfectly designed by one Art Alfie.

A long time operator in Stockholm's small but insistent underground music scene, Oscar Wedrén broke through internationally in 2012 with the Karlovak project, founded with on-off studio and dj partner Rudolf Nordström, a.k.a. Mr. Tophat. The duo's inexplicably fresh takes on classic dance music tropes is as much a result of a brilliantly odd pairing of personalities as of a defined concept and a precise method in searching for the perfect house groove.

While writing Reveries Of, released early spring 2017 through Studio Barnhus, Art Alfie freed himself of all conceptual footholds, delving instead deep into his archives of old and new memories and feels, working with impromptu field recordings and emotionally-guided sampling processes. He came back with an intricate and personal debut album and he didn't lose his groove on the way.

"Reveries Of" Album Track-List
1. Intro
2. A Lover's Anxiety
3. Llamada 911
4. City Neon
5. Esquinas feat. Daniel Rääf
6. Klubbensborg
7. Greg's Island
8. A Blues (Dolphin Cruise Edit)
9. aah hej då rå
10. East Village Trip 

Release Date: 3rd March
Formats: 12" / cd / digital
Cat Number: BARN 047
Distribution: Wordandsound 


Art Alfie releases new album, "Reveries Of" 3rd March on Studio Barnhus

Art Alfie
16 January 2017